Happy Thursday Morning Breakfast!

Standard

Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal of the day (although, I really hate to play favorites… Really, whatever meal is closest is my favorite).  If it was not already obvious, I love to eat.  After a rough week so far, I woke up this morning with the itch to bake.  With fresh zucchini straight from the garden, I whipped up to loaves of zucchini bread like a pro all before 6am.  The rest of the family was still fast asleep.

After losing my one good zucchini bread recipe, I finally found one I am going to stick with.  This came out deliciously; moist with great flavor.  If you’re in need of a pick-me-up one morning, definitely give this recipe a go!

CIMG1271

Ingredients:

  • 3 ¼ cups of flour
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 ½ cups shredded zucchini, squeezed dry

Directions (1 hr and 45 min):

  1. Preheat an oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. Mix the all-purpose flour, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, white sugar, and light brown sugar together in a large bowl. Fold the vanilla extract, eggs, vegetable oil, lemon juice, and zucchini into the flour mixture one ingredient at a time with a rubber spatula; divide the mixture between 2 loaf pans.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 65 to 75 minutes. Cool in the pans for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.

Tomorrow I should have my pencil sketch I have been working on finished.  It is taking me a lot longer than I expected, but it is looking good.  Until then!

Leave a Reply

