Some things are like potato chips…

Standard

…You can’t have just one.

Whether it is the cat lady who lives down the road, or your daughter who collects rocks.  Everybody has something that they can’t have just one of.  We are humans and we collect things.  Some people have multiple pets, others have multiple shoes.

For me, I discovered I have an obsession with fish.  Betta fish to be exact.  Let me explain a little bit first, before you pass your judgement and label me as the crazy betta fish lady.

I bought my first betta fish around last Thanksgiving.  I wanted something to take care of, but it needed to be easy, inexpensive, and apartment friendly.  My best friend had just finished telling me the story of how she brought her betta fish all the way home on the train for the week of Thanksgiving and that’s when it hit me.  I did my research and decided my budget was going to be no more than $20.

Chipotle

Chipotle

Upon entering the local Petco, I was greeted by racks of betta fish stacked on top of each other for me to choose from.  It was like Christmas!  After spending around 45 minutes pulling out fish, inspecting, and comparing, I finally decided on the one I wanted.  Anyone at that store most definitely thought I was crazy at this point.  Proud as a peacock, I brought my supplies to the counter to finish the deal.

This was over 6 months ago, Chipotle is doing great and I enjoy watching him every day; oh, and I just bought my third.  Yep, three betta fish.  I just can’t help myself.  #2, Diablo, came along around Memorial Day this year and I just bought my third, Casper.  I guess he’s a 4th of July baby.  The only issue with Casper is I don’t actually know if it is male or female!  I discovered the (even cheaper) baby betta fish.  They are tiny and it’s hard to tell their gender or color at this stage, but how can you say no to love?

Diablo

Diablo
Casper

Casper

There are simple pleasures in life, and they are very different for different people.  I get so much enjoyment taking care of my bettas, feeding them in the morning and watching them swim around.  They make me smile, they inspire me, and just make my day… What more can you ask for?  So, I felt the need to share my little obsession, maybe this will make you smile too.  If not, indulge yourself today in something that does make you smile.  It’s worth it every once in a while:)

CIMG0536

Chipotle inspired me to pull out the sketchbook and draw this guy! They are good for me:)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Talking about Tommy, or Lessons from Animals (part 1) | Charlotte's Journey Home

Leave a Reply

