“Creativity is contagious…

Standard

Pass it on” -Albert Einstein

When I was younger, my mom always encouraged my creativity.  There was not much TV or computer time allotted in my childhood days.  Friends would come over and the options were play with your toys, go outside, or do a craft.  Whenever I was bored, the options stayed the same.  Along with playing in my make-believe fairy tales like any child, I was given a lot of opportunities to create my little 8-year-old masterpieces of art.

From ironing beads together, threading beads together to make animals, jewelry making, pipe cleaners, pom-poms, foam, designing holiday ornaments, to a multitude of other little crafty projects my mom could think of, there was always some sort of creation in progress at home.  I thrived off of it.

Looking back on those days at the kitchen table now, I realize how important it was for me and how it has influenced me today.  I was always doing something.  It taught me to be creative, resourceful, and manage my time.  It also instilled a love for productivity at an early age.  Now I look  at the computer games, television shows, and video games the kids do to occupy their time and it just wastes away the hours.  Before you know it, the day is gone.  But, I guess perhaps that is the goal; to occupy the kids until it is bedtime.

In our fast-paced society, people have moved away from the little projects that are more like hobbies at home.  They don’t introduce creativity to their children, and they have lost the time in their own days for little projects.  Picasso summed up my thoughts perfectly with his quote on creativity:

Every child is an artist, the problem is staying an artist when you grow up.”

 I believe it is an important aspect to have hobbies on the side, even if it may seem childish.  It gives you something to look forward to, to be proud of, and makes the day a little more interesting.  Always keep encouraging your creativity, it is worth it:)

Leave a Reply

